Connections and Positivity

I thought of the following poem tonight at a class I attended, and I thought I would share it and my thoughts on connections and positive energy.

No man is an island,
Entire of itself.
Each is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main.
If a clod be washed away by the sea,
Europe is the less.
As well as if a promontory were.
As well as if a manor of thine own
Or of thine friend’s were.
Each man’s death diminishes me,
For I am involved in mankind.
Therefore, send not to know
For whom the bell tolls,
It tolls for thee. 

-John Donne

Our lives are so busy these days, aren’t they? Hit the alarm, shower, whisk the kids to school and ourselves to work to rush through projects and hit deadlines, sit in rush hour traffic to pick the kids up and grab some quickie type of dinner, clean the house, feed the dog.. it’s exhausting just typing that. We are so wrapped up in our lives and forget that we are part of a group, a community, a region, a country, a world.

I’ll pause here for a moment to reflect on that.

I am a part of this world.

Intellectually, we all understand this applies to all of us. But when I stop to think about it, wow, what a humbling and awe-inspiring thought. Here I am, little ol’ me, typing these words and sending them out to the World Wide Web so that you can read them and share them with your friends, my friends, our friends. I’m just a small little cog, I think. I would even venture to say that there is nothing really particularly special about me. But when I sit and think about the persons on the other end of my words, I think about the connection I create. About what impact my words have on someone, how they resonate and how someone might be able to relate to what I am saying.

I attempt to do the same with each client who comes to me, trusting me with their physical, emotional, mental, and sometimes spiritual well-being. I try to think each day about what I can do to create a comfort zone, a safe space, for my clients, so that when they come to me for massage, they feel that they can let go of the negativity, pain, tension, anxiety, fears, expectations, anger.. let go of it all and just be in the moment. In that span of time, I am connected with my client in a common goal – their health and well-being. What my intentions are and what energy I release in those moments creates an effect that the client feels, even if it is just subconsciously. If I feel rushed, I can tell and the client can tell. On the other hand, if I am relaxed and happy, and I focus on the positive, that is conveyed through my movements, my posture, and my ability to connect with the client in order to give them the very best massage session I can.

This thought process of focusing one’s intentions and using them to connect with others is not new, and I couldn’t tell you off the top of my head a single person who might have come up with the concept or has it attributed to them. But I do know that in our fast-paced lives, it’s not something we think about often. I think if we each took a few seconds to focus on a positive thought, or do something good for someone else, we make the world (and ourselves) a little better. If we said something positive, instead of “I can’t do..”, “I don’t have”.. think about the change just in your own attitude. A good mood and a smile is contagious, really it is. Connect, or reconnect with someone. Join a group.

This week, think about the positive. Think about what you CAN do, for your self, your family, your community, your region… and then do it.

About Curvaceous Yogi

I am a 33 year old self-proclaimed and proud artist, journal-writer, creator, and yogi-in-training. I also have an AAS in massage therapy, love coffee more than is good for me, and dream of traveling abroad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Connections and Positivity

  1. This was very timely for me lol. It’s been one of those weeks, sometimes I think we all need a reminder. Also, that’s always been one of my favorite poems.

Leave a Reply

